Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join!
Award Categories & Recipients
Share |

*To view the past award recipients for each award and view additional criteria for each award please click on the name of the award.*

PSHP Award Categories

The Pharmacist of the Year Award is PSHP's highest honor. This award recognizes sustained contributions to all aspects of the profession.

2019 Award Recipient: Christina Michalek, BS, FASHP

Technician of the Year Award

This award is intended to recognize an individual health-system pharmacy technician who has demonstrated outstanding achievement over years of service to the profession.
2019 Award Recipient: Not Awarded

Community Service Award

This award is intended to recognize an individual who has demonstrated community service through volunteer activities and/or performed in any organization or individual setting that enhanced the welfare of people in the community.
2019 Award Recipient: Gayle A. Cotchen, PharmD, MBA

Joe E. Smith Award

This award recognizes a pharmacist who is a member of PSHP that demonstrates excellence in practice, and is deserving of recognition for service to his/her institution, the community, and the profession.

2019 Award Recipient: Raymond Lamore, PharmD, BCPS

PSHP Student Award

This award recognizes a pharmacy student(s) who has been actively involved in initiatives related to advancing the practice of health-system pharmacy.
2019 Award Recipient: Matty Zimmerman, Jefferson College of Pharmacy '21

Innovative/Collaborative Practice Award

  This award is intended to recognize innovative and collaborative practice programs that have demonstrated a positive impact on patient care. The award is presented to a defined group of practitioners (rather than an individual) that has developed and implemented one (1) or more successful programs in an organized health care system.
2019 Award Recipient: Allegheny Health Network Controlled Substance and Substance Abuse Oversight Committee

Sister Gonzales Duffy Lecture Award

  The Sister M. Gonzales Lecture Award was established in 1985 by the Pennsylvania Society of Health-System Pharmacists in honor of the late Sister M. Gonzales Duffy, RSM, PSHP member, and Director of Pharmacy and Central Services at Mercy Hospital, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. This award is presented, annually, to an individual of high moral character, good citizenship, and high professional ideals who has made sustained contributions to health-system pharmacy that have impacted practice in Pennsylvania. The chosen individual will have achieved national prominence through accomplishments in any of several areas including health-system pharmacy practice or patient care, health-system pharmacy education, basic or clinical research related to health-system pharmacy, pharmacy organizational activity related to health-system pharmacy, public or interdisciplinary activities benefiting health-system pharmacy, and/or pharmaceutical law, ethics, or professional conduct activities related to health-system pharmacy.
2019 Award Recipient: Laura Mark, MS, PharmD, FASHP, FABC

PSHP Commencement Awards

The PSHP Commencement Award was established in 2019 to recognize one Doctor of Pharmacy candidate at each School of Pharmacy. Several awards are named for alumus of the Universities. Recipients of this award have demonstrated academic achievement, leadership, and commitment to hospital pharmacy practice. 

2020 Recipients Listed Below:

  • Duquesne University School of Pharmacy: The PSHP Joseph A. Oddis Commencement Award
    •  Jenna Christner, PharmD
  • Jefferson College of Pharmacy: The PSHP Commencement Award
    • Matthew Sowers, PharmD
  • LECOM School of Pharmacy: The PSHP Commencement Award
    •  Paul Keppel, PharmD
  • Philadelphia College of Pharmacy/University of the Sciences: The PSHP Herbert L. Flack Commencement Award
    • Darshan Patel, PharmD
  • University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy: The PSHP Daniel J. Cobaugh Commencement Award
    • Caylee Sams, PharmD
  • Temple University School of Pharmacy: The PSHP Commencement Award
    • Mai Le, PharmD
  • Wilkes University Nesbitt School of Pharmacy: The PSHP Commencement Award
    • Kayla Masters, PharmD

2020 Annual Awards Nominations Form

Each year PSHP recognizes individuals and organizations who are advancing pharmacy practice, making a difference in their community, and providing outstanding leadership at their institution. Please use the form below to submit a nomination to any of the above PSHP Awards. The deadline for nominations is July 1, 2020. All nominees must be PSHP members. 

The below documents only apply to nominations for the PSHP Student Award.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal