Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join!
Innovative and Collaborative Practice Award
Share |

Previous Award Recipients

2019     Allegheny Health Network Controlled Substance and Substance Abuse Oversight Committee
2018   No Recipient This Year
2017    Temple University Schools of Pharmacy and Dentistry Interprofessional Program
  Geisinger Health System
  No Recipient This Year
  No Recipient This Year
2013   Medication Reconciliation - Innovative Use of Pharmacy Technicians (Leroy A. Kromis III, PharmD, BCPS, Medication Safety Officer at Lehigh Valley Health Network)
  Memorial Medical Center (Johnstown, PA)
Conemaugh Health System
  York Hospital, Division of Wellspan Health - Pain Management Team
  University of Pittsburg Medical Center
  St. Mary Medical Center - DVT Prophylaxis Program
  Saint Vincent Health Center - Palliative Care Team
  The Shared Diabetes Clinic of the VA Medical Center
  Erie Veterans Affairs Medical Center
  A Consistent Approach to Optimal Formulary Decisions and Innovative Off-Label Drug Use Management
  University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy
  Allegheny General Hospital
  University of Pennsylvania Health System
  Albert Einstein Healthcare Network
  York Hospital - A Division of Wellspan Health
  University of Pennsylvania Health System
  Children's Hospital of Philadelphia - Breakthrough Team
  Hamot Medical Center/St. Vincent Health Center
  Lehigh Valley Hospital


The Innovative and Collaborative Practice Award is intended to recognize innovative and collaborative practice programs that have demonstrated a positive impact on patient care. The award is presented to a defined group of practitioners (rather than an individual) that has developed and implemented one (1) or more successful programs in an organized health care system.


Suitable nominees include groups of individuals that have implemented innovative methods, practice models, or programs for enhancing the delivery of pharmaceutical care in organized health care systems. Examples of qualifying groups include departments of pharmacy, departmental committees, local PSHP chapters, or other organized groups involving pharmacy practitioners. At least one (1) member of the nominated group must be a member of PSHP.

Nomination Process:
The nomination must be submitted in writing to a local PSHP chapter by a PSHP member, who may be a member of the group being nominated. The nomination letter submission must include the following information (please use the following headings with your submission):

  • Title of the Program
  • Institution Name
  • Program Abstract (Maximum of 300 Words)
  • Keywords Describing Your Program (5-10 Word Maximum)
  • Methodology
  • Outcomes/Key Impacts
  • Primary Contact Name and Information (Address, Phone, AND, E-Mail Address)
  • Attach any and all documents that you used in this program
    • These could include data collection forms, procedure materials, etc.
    • All forms will be put into PDF's for the web

By submitting, you agree to all of the following:

  • To allow the Pennsylvania Society of Health-System Pharmacists (PSHP) to post the submitted information on their Advance in Pharmacy Practice website ( for the use of their members (including contact information).
  • To allow PSHP to alter the format of the submissions to fit the needs of the website.

Local chapters are eligible to submit one (1) or more nominees for consideration by the Awards and Nominations Committee.

Selection Process:


All nominations, with endorsement from the local chapters, will be reviewed by the Awards and Nominations Committee. The Committee will submit the name of a suitable, qualified nominee to the Board of Directors for consideration and approval.

Award Presentation:

The award will be presented at the Annual Assembly, which takes place in the Fall, each year that a deserving group is selected for recognition. The award will consist of a suitably engraved plaque and each individual of the group will receive a certificate of recognition. Also, the winner will be asked to present their program at the Annual Assembly on the same day as their award presentation. The specifics of this presentation will be addressed to you by a Professional Practice Associate after the announcement of the winner. For this presentation, you will receive travel expenses, one (1) night's lodging, and full registration for the Annual Assembly for up to two (2) representatives from the group.


2019 Annual Awards Nominations Form (closed)

Each year PSHP recognizes individuals and organizations who are advancing pharmacy practice, making a difference in their community, and providing outstanding leadership at their institution. Please use the form below to submit a nomination to any of the above PSHP Awards. 

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal