Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join!
News & Press: Chapter News

DVPSHP 2019 Jonathan Roberts Award Banquet

Friday, November 8, 2019  
Share |

Written by: Matty Zimmerman & Adrianna Goodin    

On October 22nd, 2019, the Delaware Valley Society of Health-System Pharmacists (DVSHP) held the Jonathan Roberts Award Banquet honoring Dr. Lawrence Carey at Popi’s Italian Restaurant in South Philadelphia. The Jonathan Roberts Award is presented annually to a DVSHP member pharmacist of high moral character, good citizenship, and high professional ideals who has made significant contributions to hospital pharmacy. The event featured a welcome and introduction of the award recipient by DVSHP President Troy Rehrig as well as an award address and presentation titled “Building the Bench: The Future of Pharmacy Leadership” by Dr. Carey. An estimated 70 pharmacists, students, and technicians were in attendance.

Dr. Carey serves as Associate Chair and Director of Experiential Education within the Department of Pharmacy Practice in the School of Pharmacy at Temple University. In the past, Dr. Carey has served DVSHP as a member of their Board of Directors and as President. Dr. Carey has served in similar roles within PSHP and is the immediate past PSHP President. He also served as a member of the House of Delegates of both the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) and the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). Additionally, Dr. Carey has been active within the American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN) Self-Assessment Examination Test Committee, ASHP’s’ Committee for Government Relations and Public Policy within ASHP’s Section of Home Care Practitioners, and was a co-author of ASHP’s Minimum Standard of Home Care Pharmacies.

Dr. Carey’s presentation regarding the future of pharmacy leadership addressed barriers to participation in leadership, the importance of advocacy and leadership within the profession and the importance of inspiring new practitioners and non-pharmacists to take a larger role in pharmacy leadership. Overall, those in attendance left the evening inspired to become more involved in the profession, to increase the representation of new practitioners and pharmacy technicians in the world of pharmacy and continue their own leadership development. Congratulations to Dr. Carey on his recognition as the 2019 Jonathan Roberts Award recipient.


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal