Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join!
News & Press: Chapter News

DVSHP May CE Dinner Program: Anthony Sorrentino Memorial Commencement Award & Officer Installation

Wednesday, July 31, 2019  
Posted by: Matthew Sowers, PharmD, Candidate 2020
Share |

Written by: Matthew Sowers, PharmD, Candidate 2020, Jefferson College of Pharmacy 

On May 21st of 2019, members of the Delaware Valley Society of Health-System Pharmacists (DVSHP) joined together at the delicious pizzeria, Porta, for their annual Sorrentino Award Presentation & Officer Installation. Pharmacists, residents, students, families, and friends were all reunited for a night of commemoration and celebration. As appetizers were being brought out, next year’s DVSHP Board of Directors were installed as well as incoming President, Dr. Troy Rehrig. The Board of Directors is now so proudly composed of:

  • President: Troy Rehrig, PharmD, MS
  • Past-President: Danielle Auxer, PharmD
  • President-Elect: Kin Tran, PharmD
  • Secretary: Taylor Jones, PharmD
  • Treasurer: Shril Amin, PharmD, BCPS
  • Board Members-at-Large:
    • Neela Bhajandas, PharmD, BCCCP
    • Christo Cimino, PharmD, BCPS, AAHIVP
    • Justina Frimpong, PharmD, BCOP
    • Melissa Hibbs, BSPharm, DPLA, MHA
    • Andy Hui, PharmD, BCPS
    • Oludamilola Olugbile, PharmD

In a precious moment of transition, Dr. Troy Rehrig bestowed a plaque to Dr. Danielle Auxer, the immediate past president, for her tremendous contributions to this society in her position as president. Dr. Richard Pacitti then took the floor to honor the late Anthony Sorrentino and his family for their contributions to the practice of pharmacy and this community. As part of his legacy, the Sorrentino family continues to recognize a fourth year student pharmacist with sustained contributions to the organization and practice of Pharmacy. This year the Anthony Sorrentino Memorial Commencement Award was bestowed to Cavan O’Kane (TUSP ‘19) for his commitment to Temple University School of Pharmacy’s Student Society of Health-System Pharmacy (SSHP) chapter as well a number of other honors all while holding multiple pharmacy jobs.

The installations and awards were immediately followed by an informative presentation by Dr. Ashley Maister from Penn Presbyterian Medical Center where she was completing her Postgraduate Year 1 (PGY1) Pharmacy Practice Residency. Dr Maister’s presentation, “Topics in Transgender Healthcare” provided attendants with a plethora of resources on proper terminology as well as current guideline recommendations on transgender care. In treating transgender patients, pharmacists and clinicians, alike, must recognize that treatment cannot rely solely on medication, but rather a culmination of social considerations, creating a safe and welcoming en

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal